Premed 101 Forums

Canadian citizen taking undergrad in US wanting to go to Canadian Med School

Hey guys,  I have a daughter who has been offered an athletic scholarship to a D1 school in the US.  She is a great well rounded student who’s average is consistently around 96/97 percent.  She is interested in Bio/Chem studies.  Over the last year or so she has been leaning towards being a physician.  Question: is she going to have trouble coming back to Canada for med school upon graduating from US institution?  Is it near impossible to get into Canadian med school with US undergrad degree?  Are there things she can do throughout her university years that can boost her chances of acceptance such as volunteer work or would she be limited to US med schools?  Thanks in advance

I am far from an expert and have no specific knowledge and presumably others will chime in, but I see no problem by obtaining an undergrad degree in the US. You do realize that in addition to having a competitive GPA and doing the MCAT, she will need to demonstrate CanMED competencies from her ECs, volunteering and work.

On the other hand, undergrad studies in Canada are no that expensive and why bother with the short term gain of the scholarship if your daughter wants med in Canada. 

It's not so much the division Canada/US, it's more that Canadian medical schools are very GPA focused which might be harder for your daughter to obtain while on a demanding athletic scholarship in the US.

I had friends a while back who accepted such scholarships and would need to practice many hours a day while not leaving time for much else.  Plus, obtaining a good GPA in a US can depend even more than in Canada on the school/program (although graduates of Mac and Queen's health sci will make up an increasing proportion of Canadian med students).