Premed 101 Forums

Anyone switch from Dent to Med?

Hello a dental student here.

I am currently in my first year of dentistry and after much deliberation, I've decided that I want med. I know I am in an awkward position and I was wondering if there's someone on this forum who went through this (switched from dent to med) whom I could talk to.

I am just lost and would really appreciate some guidance.

Thank you!

23 minutes ago, DentistrytoMed said:

I am currently in my first year of dentistry and after much deliberation, I've decided that I want med. I know I am in an awkward position and I was wondering if there's someone on this forum who went through this (switched from dent to med) whom I could talk to.

Thank you!

You would simply re-apply to Medicine just as anyone else. You won't be able to get any credit for your dental school training. So if you want to change, just apply to medicine and see if you get interviews.

7 minutes ago, JohnGrisham said:

You would simply re-apply to Medicine just as anyone else. You won't be able to get any credit for your dental school training. So if you want to change, just apply to medicine and see if you get interviews.

Thank you for your reply but that is not what I was wondering.

-Do you think my history as a dental student will be favourable or disadvantageous in pre-interview and post-interview stages? Should I disclose it and wear it proudly or try to hide it unless brought up?

-How would my LOC work? Would I open a new one or would it carry over?

There are more questions that I just think people who have been in my shoes would be more informed of. 

On 6/28/2021 at 11:46 AM, DentistrytoMed said:

-Do you think my history as a dental student will be favourable or disadvantageous in pre-interview and post-interview stages? Should I disclose it and wear it proudly or try to hide it unless brought up?