Premed 101 Forums

Advice needed: Is it possible to overcome a bad undergrad GPA? Thoughts from a non-traditional grad applicant

Hey friends - I'm in dire need of some real-talk advice here. I'd really appreciate anyone who is willing to read this and provide their critical thoughts.

TLDR: how to overcome a terrible (3.2/4.0) undergrad GPA and get into a Canadian school?

I am a mid-20s, non-traditional, BC graduate-student applying for Canadian medical school for the first time. I would have a very competitive application, but for one major caveat: my undergrad GPA is horrible (3.2/4.0).

I did my undergraduate degree in honours Engineering. The first 4 years of my undergrad, I had very little motivation to become an engineer, and my grades reflected that: up until 4th year, my cGPA was ~2.8/4.0.

Things changed late in 4th year when I landed a co-op placement in the health sector. I never truly considered medicine - but this job made me realize that I must become a doctor. Nothing made me feel so fulfilled as when I worked directly with patients. From then on, my only goal was to get into Canadian medical school.

So I picked up my game. I switched my engineering concentration to a health-focused specialization, and in that 5th and final year of undergrad I earned a GPA of 3.7/4.0, which brought up my cGPA to 3.2/4.0. Realizing that this was still not going to get me into medical school, though, I accepted an offer to do my Master's in Engineering, in the hopes that it could offset my disappointing undergrad.

Three years later: I feel like a new person.

I have a 4.0 Graduate GPA (based on 4 grad courses), 10+ research publications/presentations, 4+ years working in a hospital environment, >$100k earned from scholarships/awards, and other diverse extracurriculars (executive of a large charity, pilot's license, music, etc.). I even wrote the MCAT last summer, and got a CARS score of 128.