Premed 101 Forums

How to match to neuro? + looking for neuro residents to talk to

Neurogunner

Hey fellow premed101 users,

I’m currently a second year med student and have discovered my love for neurology! I love doing the neuro exam and working neuro patients up and the consultant work is always very interesting! I have my heart set on either an adult or Pediatric neurology residency, however I’m also very anxious about matching and unfortunately most provincial governments seem to be pushing family medicine and not specialty programs so it might be even harder to match by the time I go through Carms.

I was wondering what I can do to increase my chances other then the run of the mill research/electives/good letters? Would a MSc be very beneficial (in neuro)? For reference, I’m bilingual so I was planning on applying broadly to all the adult neuro + child neuro programs (around 22 programs in total). Would this be sufficient or should I back up with another program in addition? I don’t really enjoy any other programs, other then maybe psych through which I could do neuropsych? But then again psych is quite competitive too…

I was also wondering if there would be any way to be strategic with my electives to increase my chances. I’m flexible on location, so maybe I can focus on doing electives in areas/programs that in the past had leftover spots - since if I get ranked highly by them I have a great shot?

I would also love to chat with à neuro resident/attending if any frequent premed101!

-An anxious M2

A good person to ask would be someone who matched from your home med school this year; they're close to the process and are more likely familiar with the unique clerkship timeline of your school. Especially as visiting electives might not happen, they might be able to speak to electives at your home program a bit more. 

On 9/28/2021 at 2:09 PM, Neurogunner said: