Premed 101 Forums

Devastated after MCAT (1st time), desperately need help!

DaisyR2002

Hi everyone,

I just did my first mcat and got a 492, I was scoring ~500 on the samples. Im so disappointed I was aiming for a 505+. I don't think I studied well, I did content review for the first month, I read the kaplan chapters, didn't attempt the end of chapter Qs as I heard they were useless and for Pych/soc I read the 300 page doc. Then I did Uworld for the entire second month , then the last month I did AAMC fls, with aamc sb/qp etc until the final exam on August 26th. During the first month of content, I used an anki deck I found and did the corresponding kaplan chapter anki deck each day (2 chapters a day, thus two decks). After the content month, I stopped doing anki, and only did Uworld, and never really picked up anki again. It might come better hearing it from someone else but can anyone explain what I should do to score better, if I had been doing anki review the whole way throughout would my score have been higher? Also when I retake should I do uworld with content or after? I really messed up and I wont let this happen again but any help would be appreciated!

This is a sample schedule I made based on my mistakes this year:

THINGS TO DO NEXT YEAR:

>MAY: (5-6 WEEKS)

-content (2 chapters/day) + Anki + U world

>June: (WHEN CONTENT IS DONE)

• Uworld + Anki
  • AAMC SB/QP

>JULY:

-AAMC SB/QP + ANKI 

-FILL CONTENT GAPS

>AUGUST:

• PRACTISE AAMC EXAMS (REVIEW THROUGHLY)
  • RE-DO AAMC SB/QP
  • ANKI EVERYDAY

Hi all,