Premed 101 Forums

Questions about working in Alberta after US residency

Hey everyone, I am a PGY-3 FM resident in the USA. Originally from rural Alberta and hope to return there after residency. I don't know any physicians in Canada and had some questions I was hoping someone can help me with. 

- How does one go about applying for jobs in Alberta? Here they have websites like Merritt Hawkins and practice link. I looked online for outpatient/inpatient jobs in my area of Alberta and couldn't find much. 

- My program is inpatient heavy and I was looking at primarily doing hospitalist work. Is it common for FM physicians to work as hospitalists in Canada? What is the average census? Do they have open ICUs? Does FM do their own inpatient procedures?

- Apparently it will take me about 3 months to get an independent practice license in Alberta. Would I be able to work anywhere while the paperwork is being sorted? Is there some kind of temporary license?

Thanks!

Still in residency myself, so can’t answer all your questions. You can try https://www.doctorjobsalberta.com. You can also check the cherry health app for locums in Alberta.

Edit: forgot to mention the FMRA job board https://sites.google.com/ualberta.ca/fmra/job-advertisements

Lots of jobs are word of mouth, and some hospitalists I’ve worked with have advised me that they often prefer residents who’ve trained at their center, just because they know them. Locums are a very good way to make connections here, and since Kenney started his war on the family docs they are in increasingly short supply. You may find that a good way to start.