Premed 101 Forums

Med school after midwifery - questions

Hello, I'm a midwife and have practiced for a few years now but want to go to med school in a few years (once my youngest is no longer a baby). I have a master's degree and also a 4.0 GPA from midwifery school, lots of volunteer experience, and experience also working in a primary healthcare field. A few questions though:

-If I start med school around the time I'm 40, is that too late?

-I am thinking of UOttawa but they need pre-reqs in Chemistry, Biochemistry, and Organic Chemistry. I've taken courses in Life Sciences (biochem), Reproductive Physiology, and Pharmacology -- do you suppose any of those will count? If not, where do folks take prereq courses online?

-Would it be possible to still practice part time while I'm in med school?

-Has anyone else moved from midwifery to med school?

Thank you!