Premed 101 Forums

Should I give McMaster medicine a shot? Aspiring lawyer.

A little about my situation.

I have cGPA of 3.92/4 and scored in the 99.5th percentile on the LSAT. I'll be applying to the top law schools in the US / Canada next cycle.

Medical schools were never on my radar because I assumed that I wouldn't be qualified to apply to them since I come from a non-STEM undergrad, and I wasn't interested in taking science pre-reqs that'd likely damage my GPA for a very remote shot at med schools. However, I learned yesterday that McMaster doesn't require any pre-reqs and won't even look at the non-CARS sections of the MCAT, which I imagine would be the section I'm naturally strongest in.

I've had some generic office job experiences since graduating in 2017. I don't have any exposure whatsoever to medicine in any capacity (volunteers, ECs etc.). I haven't done a lick of serious science or math since grade 11 in high school in 2012.

With my profile, is it even worth applying to Mac's medicine program? Is there a catch somewhere I'm missing or could I hypothetically just guess every science question on the MCAT, crush CARs and get a shot at an interview there? Would I be screened out during said interview (on the long shot I get one) for not having a strong medical ECs/volunteer/experiences etc.?

And on the miraculous chance I secure an admit, how ill-prepared would I be for the program with absolutely 0 STEM grounding. I've retained little of what I learned even in high school.

Any insight would be appreciated!

McMaster does not care about ECs so you're fine there, you're definitely not the first person to try the CARS only strategy on the MCAT so it's not a crazy thing to do.