Premed 101 Forums

What EC would help my application? I have a non-traditional life story and would love some advice

Redface

Hello

My question is regarding EC. I am planning my journey to medical school and was wondering which EC would best distinguish my application in relation to my life story so far. 

My story: 

I am 26 and the youngest of 4 brothers. All of my brothers were born with a congenital disease (they all were on wheelchairs) which shortened their lives. Ive been caring for my brothers since I was 13. Due to the nature of the care I've sustained many injuries. Ive also seen many traumatic events caring for my brothers (ER visits, strokes, mental issues, etc). Ive been told by many people that I took great care of my brothers, while they were at their best or worst. Living with my vulnerable brothers I have developed a great deal of empathy for those who are sick. I am also a Registered Nurse. I completed my nursing degree (took me 2 extra years) while caring for all 3 of my brothers. This involved taking them to therapy, ER visits, places they would enjoy to visit and spending time with them (as disability often leads to a lack of friends imo). 2 of my brothers passed away while I was still in nursing school. This impacted my gpa greatly (3.8 to 2.7 in my later years). I also took 2 extra years to complete my degree as taking a full course load and caring for my brothers was a lot to handle. I have enrolled in a 2nd degree to improve my GPA and get a 2nd shot at medical school.