Premed 101 Forums

How do people pay off debt during a 5-year residency?

I'm a 4th year student who going through CaRMS right now. I will graduate with a bit over ~100k in debt from undergrad and med school combined, which I've read is around the median in Canada. I'm currently parallel planning between a 5-year specialty and FM. Between rising cost of living, residency costs, exam fees, and also general expenses (eg hobbies), how do people manage to make a dent in their debt over the course of a 5 year residency on a resident salary? I don't have family to financially support me. 

It honestly depends on what kind of lifestyle you are leading as a resident. That being said I think many people don't have the ability to pay off their debt until they become staff. It's probably fine if you just prevent the debt from increasing and a resident salary is more than enough to live on for a single person. It's a stressful time and the incremental costs to maintain your sanity (e.g., takeout) are probably worth it instead of trying to push down your debt. As a staff the ability to pay back your debt quickly is pretty high.

That's a great question, something I've been contemplating since your stage.

first off, financial literacy is key. You should read up on FIRE, and join some FIRE groups of physician financial independent FB groups. Knowledge is strength. There are tons of free resources on personal finance. 

secondly,  financial health has 4 super important aspects (IMHO):

1) top line = your income/revenue. As a resident you'll earn a salary, so you have steady cash flow. But your ways of increasing income is limited. Nonetheless, many people find innovative ways to generate income outside of their salary. Some examples I've seen include tutoring, house hacking, etc. Don't feel discouraged if your income is not what you want to make/expect to make. Keep an eagle's eye for opportunities.