Premed 101 Forums

Dealing with conflicting feedback

Butterfly_

I am a FM R1 resident doing a hospitalist rotation. 

It’s been quite a frustrating rotation as I constantly get conflicting feedback from different preceptors. I work with a different preceptor almost every other day. 

For instance, one thought my assessment plan was too detailed and wanted me to become more concise

Another preceptor told me to be more detailed. 

Even prescribing medications, one preceptor does it one way, another one does it another.

For instance, I was taught to give a range for opioids, aka “hydromorphone .25-0.5mg po q4h prn” by one preceptor. She said this allows patient to   easier titrate their pain med needs. 

Today, I had a preceptor say, “NEVER PROVIDE A RANGE, just stick to one number and adjust as needed” . He said it makes it easier to figure out how much prn is taken and you adjust as needed.

Both ways make sense to me and I get criticized choosing one over the other.

It seems like whatever I choose there’s going to be someone  unhappy about it.

So at the end of the day, I just feel like I’m always doing it wrong and hearing the constant criticism is hurting my confidence.

I feel like crap. Sigh :(.

Any advice on how to navigate this?

I'm still only at the applying to med school stage, but as a non trad that is a manager in a different industry I have some generic advice that may be useful. Humility and allowing superiors to save face goes a long way. Even if they are wrong they are still human. No one likes being corrected, so the game is to get them to correct themselves without realizing you led them there.

1. Always be kind and respectful to everyone, but pleasing people that have no long term influence on your career is completely optional. Don't need a reference or performance review from this person? Smile, nod, and then you are free to move on without incorporating their advice as soon as they leave the room.