Premed 101 Forums

NOSM interview invites/regrets 2022

I know other schools have a similar thread going for interview invites and it might be helpful for future applicants!

Received an invite this morning (January 17th) at 8:30 AM.

I’m a non-traditional student and this is my second application cycle and this will be my second interview.

My biggest weakness is my GPA (3.60) but I was born and raised in a small northern Ontario town where I still live today after spending three years down East in my early 20s.

I have a Master’s degree in literature  and a background in Indigenous-based research, wellness and advocacy!

I applied via the RGS stream. 

Feel free to share your stats and outcome below.

Best of luck!!!

21 minutes ago, NOSMApplicant said:

Interview: Yes :)!!!!!
GPA: 3.5 + 0.2 from Masters 
Context:  Grew up in NO population < 10,000
Non-trad?: Yes, humanities 
# of previous applications: Second time applying 

Congrats! I am also coming from the humanities! I have an MA in Literature. Good luck! 

Hi folks!

Interview: yes!!!

Time stamp: 8:42am 

GPA: 3.72

Context: lived in a small, northern town in western Canada (population: 11K) most of my life plus got my 1st degree from a northern university.

Non-trad: no

Background: I’ve done a bit of everything- student class rep & club exec, wildfire emergency response, Indigenous/senior/child&youth mental health and wellness, capacity building overseas, research assistant, TA, hospital volunteer, and ESL tutor. Currently in tech school for medical imaging.

Previous applications: yes

Let’s show NOSM how awesome we are in these interviews :)

Interview: no

Time stamp:10:30am

GPA: 3.86

Context: born in northern Ontario, moved around all over Canada and living in <10,000 for 95% of it.