Premed 101 Forums

McGill vs UdeM nursing school

Alya1412

Hello I am a college student who has applied to nursing at UdeM and McGill. The point is that my ultimate goal is to go from nursing to medical school. What I wanted to know is if anyone has an opinion on which university I should choose to have the best chance of getting a competitive GPA. I am a native French speaker, but I would say that I have pretty good English and I was wondering if this would be a disadvantage for me to not be an English Native speaker? I would also like to know more about the difficulty of the exams and the level of competition in the 2 different universities. If anyone wants to share their knowledge and experience with me, I would really appreciate it : )

From personal experience, I would recommend McGill over UdeM, because McGill has a traditional way of giving classes (lectures or cours magistraux) whereas UdeM has APP (apprentissage par problèmes where students "teach themselves" the material and it is overall harder to get a good grade from what I heard). Moreover, the clinicals (stages) at McGill are Pass/Fail, meaning they don't impact your GPA and, at UdeM, they are graded subjectively. I know several people who went from McGill nursing to McGill or UdeM med.

On 4/10/2022 at 6:11 PM, Alya1412 said:

I am a native French speaker, but I would say that I have pretty good English and I was wondering if this would be a disadvantage for me to not be an English Native speaker?

It shouldn't be a problem, a lot of francophones did well in the McGill nursing program. In fact, it puts you at an advantage during stages.

21 hours ago, ADoseofLuck said:

From personal experience, I would recommend McGill over UdeM