Premed 101 Forums

Paramedic Diploma to Undergrad for med school

Hello, 

I am currently working as a full time paramedic and hoping to eventually get into NOSM. I have lived in northern Ontario for most of my life and recognize the urgent need for doctors in our area. 

My questions are regarding the application process.  I graduated the paramedic program with honours. My Paramedic Diploma can be converted to 30 credits toward an undergrad with the possibility of a few extra credits. As a mature student, I only need a 3 year degree, but does anyone know if the transfer credits would count towards my GPA calculation? Would it just be easier to get a 3 year degree from scratch and focus on keeping my grades high?

Some people mention that you need FT schooling to be counted, does this mean if I take 4-5 years to finish an undergrad while working as a medic full-time that it wouldn't count for application purposes? 

Are there any specific recommendations for universities regarding 3yr degrees with online course loads? 

I can answer any questions about my background further if needed.

Thanks for your time!

Hello!

Glad to hear that you are interested in applying to NOSM. From a context perspective, the fact that you have lived in Northern Ontario for most of your life will help when calculating your pre-interview score.

Whenever posed with these sorts of questions, I would always suggest contacting admissions as they probably have the most accurate and up-to-date information. However, to address your question, I was able to find the below from the NOSM website:

image.thumb.png.b47134d69faaead5d2d403f51270b601.png