Premed 101 Forums

Any advice would be appreciated!

Hi there,

I am just stuck with options and I am not sure which way might be an idea path for me.

Currently, I am an international (I know that international students are not welcomed to medical school, but I am receiving my PR pretty soon) and I graduated from U of T as a science major. I graduated with 3.17 cGPA with last two years averaging 3.8GPA. I have graduated and worked in a clinic for a year with several extracurricular activities such as clinical/non-clinical volunteering + military service back in South Korea. Now, I know foreign military service will not be considered significant, but it is one of the significant life even for me that I decided to dedicate myself to medicine path. (and after returning from military, I received 3.8 GPA for the last two years).

So I think my GPA is still weak. I have not calculated with other GPA calculators yet, but I believe there are some improvements I can make. However, I need your help in advising me forward. I am planning to return to school for about 2 years to take courses and boost up GPA. There are three options for me that I can currently think of:

1. Try for Master's degree? - not really sure since I heard a lot of people and read some schools don't really consider the graduate GPA so I am still stuck with low GPA.

2. 2 years of non-degree study with high level courses

3. second degree - I honestly don't think I can manage this as this will take 3 years to complete mostly...

I have already inquired most medical schools about extra years studying GPA, but haven't received anything yet. I just want to hear you guys and how I should direct myself for a future MD student.

Thanks for any advice!

• latemornin changed the title to Any advice would be appreciated!

Welcome to the forum. 

Is there a reason why two years is reasonable for you but three years is not manageable? Genuinely curious.