Premed 101 Forums

Upon beginning residency, are we given access to another professional line of credit?

I recall a conversation with a classmate that mentioned something about how when we begin residency, depending on what the residency is (i.e. how long it is), we can access or increase our current line of credit to be much larger. I could be misremembering but I remember it being in the ball park of $1M.

Now, I could be COMPLETELY recalling this wrong, so just let me know.

My LOC continued on from medical school when I graduated years ago. There was no option to directly expand my LOC and I am in a specialty where most people complete PGY6 or PGY7 before finding a job. If there is an option it must be fairly new.

I wouldn't be surprised if you could probably find some way to take out another line of credit at higher rates, but in this interest rate environment I would advise against taking on more debt than necessary.

On 9/23/2022 at 6:52 PM, alrightythen said:

I recall a conversation with a classmate that mentioned something about how when we begin residency, depending on what the residency is (i.e. how long it is), we can access or increase our current line of credit to be much larger. I could be misremembering but I remember it being in the ball park of $1M.

Now, I could be COMPLETELY recalling this wrong, so just let me know.

I haven't heard of that either, and had A LOT of trouble helping people who hit the wall on their LOC.