Premed 101 Forums

High scoring Best Undergraduate degree for Medical school

Harry259

Hi,

I am a grade 12 student in Ontario. I wish to pursue Medicine after university.

I have learnt that a high GPA is very important for Med School admissions.

I am good at Biology/Chemistry/Physics& Mathematics…..

Please suggest Undergraduate programs and universities in Ontario ( or elsewhere) where it is easier to get High GPA and research opportunities.

Any and all Advice is welcome 

Thanks

Welcome to the Forum! :P

There is no simple formula to attaining high grades. There is no one program to take with a guarantee of high grades.

High grades are a function of discipline, focus, time & stress management skills, studying hard and efficiently in a manner that works for you, having no distractions, not dating an individual too needy who will derail your ambitions and making mature, strategic decisions. And most importantly, taking a program where you are highly motivated as you should do better when motivated highly.

Also, I would avoid universities like U of Toronto where high grades are difficult to attain. Consider York, Acadia where the student to prof ratio is low.

I studied kin, was always studying, exhausted at the end of each semester, I had a supportive s.o. whom I only saw for a few short hours on Saturday nights for many years. I became a straight A student, got into medicine and am a surgeon today. It was an exhausting marathon for longer than a decade. 

33 minutes ago, Bambi said:

There is no simple formula to attaining high grades. There is no one program to take with a guarantee of high grades.