Premed 101 Forums

Help for choosing a dental school

Hello everyone,

I am currently an independent student at Concordia University. A little bit on my background. I did Social Sciences at a french CEGEP .Later on, I decided to switch for Health Sciences since I started to have an great  interest in dentistry, but did not have the high school math prerequisites (TS4/TS5) to be able to do so.  Therefore, I decided to make the switch at the university-level and here I am currently taking bio/chem/phys/math courses.

I wll be starting my undergraduate degree next year and I have three dental schools on my list: McGill, UdeM and UofT.

One thing that worries me a looooot  is my CEGEP  background and independent student situation. The McGill DMD program requires either a 120-credit undergraduate degree for OOP or a 90-credit undergraduate degree with DEC for IP (I'm IP).Other than that, I am good for UdeM since in very special cases like mine they dont require a DEC but they do want the completion of science prerequisite courses+undergraduate degree and UofT requires a undergraduate degree and other prereqs biochem,physiology,life sciences, humanities/social sciences taken at university-level.

McGill responded me with a very vague email regarding my situation :confused:.So I was wondering if anyone here was in a similar situation and was eventually able to gain acceptance into dental school with no  DEC but with a Bachelors degree.