Premed 101 Forums

Research necessary for residency match?

Hi everyone, I'm currently a third year medical student completing clerkship. I have recently become interested in Radiology and am considering pursuing it for residency. Originally I was planning on either internal medicine or family medicine as career options and had not considered Radiology to be an option. I am a  non-traditional student who came to medicine from a different career field and do not have any meaningful clinical research. I was wondering with how competitive CaRMS is getting for many specialties, how much of an issue is it that I have zero research for my application. I have otherwise done well on my rotations and in medical school so far but I don't really know if that will count for much. I am still trying to decide on what electives to choose for 4th year, but didn't want to go all in on Radiology if my chances of matching are low without any research or meaningful interactions with radiology staff. I really appreciate any input about this. Thank you!

• 2 weeks later...
On 1/9/2023 at 6:45 AM, anonymouspls said:

Radiology is becoming more competitive again (0.7 ratio last year, looking similar this year) so I would say not having any research at all is not helpful. Try to get involved with any research, doesnt have to be radiology related.