Premed 101 Forums

Pharmacy

Guest FungManX

Guest canucksrock

UBC pharmacy is way too overrated. All those pharmacy students in wood thinking they are cool are the biggest losers I have ever seen. Too many people doing it for all the wrong reasons, not knowing the JOB DEMAND is going to DECREASE very quickly.

Guest GundamDX

maybe he ran into the first year students. I heard the curriculum gets much harder in senior years... maybe then students won't be less cocky ^^

Guest MKxox

I think the bigger issue for the pharm students is that they're not gonna have job stability because the market (especially in lower mainland) is completely saturated.

Guest pharmgurl

Hey, I graduated from pharmacy school 2 years ago, it definitely is not easy....maybe those pharmacy students that act like their too cool in Wood are actually super-stressed from studying (no excuse for being snotty though). As for jobs, there's tons of them if you're willing to leave Vancouver or if you're in it for the right reasons, do a residency, then you can stay in Van and have job satisfaction!

Pharmgurl

Guest kellyl20

pharm in hospital starts @ 29.46/hr, up to 36.74/hr for a junior position in BC.

Your highest pharm in hospital earns fr 39.69 to 49.51.

Guest firesawyer

Hey Canucksrock,

You sound like a compassionate individual. It's good to see everyone in or interested in med possesses the virtues of patience and respect for others...

Guest canucksrock

^^^ haha I know I must have sounded like an ass with my comment but thats not how I meant it to come out. I have no problems with pharmacy, what I do have a problem with is the pharmacy students being more cocky then the med students for some reason. Nobody has the right to be cocky about anything, you should be proud but not cocky. I have 5 friends in 1st year pharm who got in with 65-69% averages, and all I ever hear from people is that pharmacy is soooooo competitive to get in hence why I think its way too overrated

Guest FungManX