Premed 101 Forums

high gpa, low mcat

Guest GP2B

hi everybody!

i am a dal hopeful, scheduled for the first interview date (january 28). :o i am also a dal alum, with a bsc and soon a masters degree as well. i have had a high gpa throughout both degrees (all grades except two b+s have been as), however my mcats were skimmers (enough to apply, but nothing more). with the interview fast approaching, i am wondering whether any past applicants/current students been in the same situation and how much emphasis the admissions committee places on mcat scores?

thank you! :)

Guest MrNeuroscience

Hi there,

I am by no means an expert... but...

All the information I hear about Dal is that your MCAT scores and GPA are used solely to grant you an interview... if you have the minimums, then you have an interview (except for OOPers). Beyond this, (again, from what I have heard) is that both your GPA and MCAT scores factor into the descision minutely, if even at all. The interview is the most important, followed by the letters you secured, followed by your EC's... If it is really worrying you though, flip down through the old Dal forum and look at the stats other individuals have posted regarding their acceptances, and see if any are similar to yours.

Don't sweat it, as long as you get in the interview room, you stand as good a chance as everyone else!

Good Luck!!!

Guest JewelLeigh

This is incorrect. Yes, it is true that your gpa and mcat are the only factors that determine which maritime applicants receive an interview. But, the committee equal considers each of these four factors in determining whether or not to grant admission:

- Academics - GPA & MCAT

- Supplementary Sheet & Essays

- Reference Letters

- Interview

Thus, yes, people who are very strong in the latter 3 areas but have a lower gpa and mcat are accepted. But that does not mean that academics are considered "minutely" or not at all.