Premed 101 Forums

advice please!

Guest mintie

Guest mintie

Hihi!

I'm currently a biochm student at UT going into my 4th year.

I want to apply for some US schools as well as some Canadian ones this year. I have a gpa of 3.97 and MCAT of 36R and average ECs like volunteering and research and some recreational sports activities.

Which schools would u advise me to apply for?? and which schools would i stand the best chance of getting in??

I'm very confused right now .... any help would b appreciated! :)

thnx guys!

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

Both, your MCAT score and your GPA appear strong. As long as you can write a strong AAMC essay and medical school secondaries, and have good reference letters, I'd think that you would have a good chance at most US medical schools. You might want to check the latest AAMC Medical Admissions book for the MCAT and GPA averages for all of the AAMC-affiliated medical schools, if you'd like more information. :)

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest mintie

Hey Kirsteen!

Thnx for the reply!

My trouble is that I can probably get only one solid reference letter from a prof I've been working for since last summer.

I will be doing a 4th year project coming sept and can get the prof to write me a reference letter, however I dunno how solid a reference that would be, since he would have only known me for a couple of months.

I was thinking of Yale, Duke and JOhn Hopkins, but don't know what chance I would stand if i can't get 2 solid prof references.

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,