Premed 101 Forums

Lab requirements/credits

Guest threeputt

Guest threeputt

Does anyone know what exactly 8 semester hours means for science prerequisites that many US schools require? I do realize that this implies a lab component, but how many semester hours does lab count for?

The reason I'm asking is that I have a full year (6 credits) of Physics, but only one term had a lab component. Will that lab count as 2 semester hours, or do I need a full year of lab?

I hate all the Canada-US translations!

Guest jacksonchan85

I'm no expert on this..but here's my opinion...

You have the full-year in physics, and it probably just so happens that you're school did not offer a 2nd-half lab component...you can't do anything about that...it's the way the school works...

Contact the schools, explain to them that that's the sequence of courses for your school, and I'm sure they'll understand...I'm sure if there was a second lab component available you would've taken it...

good luck:p

Guest threeputt

Hey jc85. Thanks for your opinion. I will call the schools and explain my situation, hopefully all will be good. But here is my exact situation (from UBC):

For my degree requirements, I only had to take PHYS101 (3cr, which has lab) in first yr cuz I had Physics12 in hs, while many others took PHYS 100 (equivalent to Physics 12) and 101 (total 6 cr, with lab). I could've also taken PHYS102 (3cr, with lab), but wasn't really into Physics :eek . Only later on, when I decided I wanted to apply for med, I took PHYS330 (3cr, no lab) to satisfy a full yr of Physics for some Canadian Meds (and it's been fine for Canada). Anyways, it's kinda strange how sometimes you get punished for being ambitious in hs.

That's my story, can anyone shed more light on the situation?

Guest jeffsimz