Premed 101 Forums

Volunteering & Extracurrics: how much should I be doing?

booty911

I am just curious for all your premeds out there. I am in my first year of university and am only on one committee at my university.

How many extracurriculars should one be doing as a premed? Should I try to take more as I progress through my years? How many are you taking? How are you coping with time management?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Advice has been given in the past to just take on as much as you can handle. Extracurriculars are one part of the application. Many schools would not get to see these activties if your GPA/stats are not high enough. So, basically judge how much is too much and be involved with what you enjoy!

Good luck with first year!

I agree with the post above. You're here for school and you need the grades to get in. Extracurriculars are just one aspect of the application. I know one guy who was practically apart of every club in the school, heading town meetings, student councils, etc...but I found out he was forced to take 2 semester off school due to poor grades. Extracurriculars isn't going to work in your favor if that happens.

Also, if you're doing extracurriculars/volunteering just for the sake of making it look good on a resume or application. Don't do it. I think it's disturbing how strategic and structured premeds are. Find something you enjoy. Pursue it. And when you get your interview for med, you can show them the passion and reason why you did it in the first place.

That's not to say don't try new things in university. You'll never have another time like it to experiment. But do it for yourself and not to check it off on a piece of paper to fill space.