Premed 101 Forums

Overcoming nervousness

Smurfette

I was wondering whether people have tips for how to improve on interviews. I love meeting people and talking to others in social settings, but I don't really like the feeling of being judged and so I'm not very good at interviews (or oral exams, etc.). I kind of get nervous and impersonal, which could come across as "cold" or "shy". Does anyone have any suggestions other than simply doing a few mock interviews?

I was wondering whether people have tips for how to improve on interviews. I love meeting people and talking to others in social settings, but I don't really like the feeling of being judged and so I'm not very good at interviews (or oral exams, etc.). I kind of get nervous and impersonal, which could come across as "cold" or "shy". Does anyone have any suggestions other than simply doing a few mock interviews?

I'm not a medical student yet, however, I have done quite a few scholarship interviews or interviews for other things. The best advice I have ever gotten and I tell people is to be yourself. Say what you think is right and try to best convey who you are. I know it sounds really simple, but usually your instincts are right and I am assuming you are not a horrible person with extreme fundamental flaws, so I'd think if you prepared for some typical questions and answered the rest based on the person you are, you'd be fine. A lot of people don't do this, and it acts as a good separator from those admitted vs. those rejected.

Hi there,

it is very hard for someone to admit that they actually get nervous to talk to strangers (who judge you like you said) during interviews. But I think a lot of people get nervous nevertheless.