Premed 101 Forums

4th year with 3.2 GPA. Should I take a fifth year, or apply now to the Carribbean?

Hi there,

I wanted to gather some advice, especially from the people who may have encountered the same situation and can contribute with their experience, or even those who have not, I am more than happy to hear your feedback. Currently I am in fourth year finishing my undergrad in Life Sciences and my GPA culmative is 3.2. I am wondering if it would be worth it to take an extra year, and with my fourth and fifth (extra) year combined apply to medical schools in North America with an anticipated higher GPA. Mind you that my culmative average only reflects my first three years. Considering the uncertainty in such a path, would it be wise to apply and, if accepted, pursue med overseas (i.e. carribeans) or should I stick around for that fifth year and try again here. I am aware that is it very hard to gain acceptance in NA, but I just want a sense of how difficult it is from someones experience with this route, if anyone has been through it. Also, for those who have not, again I would appreciate any feedback on this.

Hi there,

I don't know much about the other Ontario med schools but with 2 years above Western's and Queen's gpa cutoffs, you have as good a chance as anyone (assuming you also make their mcat cutoffs). In fact, if your program is what Western considers an Honours program (meaning if you're eligible for grad school after graduating) and you take 5 full-courses in your fourth year with a gpa that's above Western's cutoff, then you can apply there next year but if you get in, your acceptance will be conditional on your next year's gpa also being above the cutoff. And if you don't get in on your first try, you can try again after your 5th year and this time, having 2 years above the cutoffs, you can apply to both Western and Queen's.