Premed 101 Forums

Importance of bilingualism at McGill

Guest Apollo

Hey all,

As an Ontario resident (ie:OOP), do you think that a limited understanding of the french language will impair my chances of gaining acceptance at McGill? Although I studied core french throughout elementary and high school, I certainly don't consider myself bilingual.

Thanks for your thoughts

I'm not trying to diminish my hopes or anything, but I have a good feeling that even if my GPA and/or MCAT scores were slightly higher than someone else who was perfectly bilingual, I would be ranked behind the other person. Hopefully someone in the MDCM program can prove me wrong, but I think McGill strongly prefers bilingual applicants.

U of Ottawa and McGill are my first two choices (not necessarily in that order), mainly because I could continue developing my french skills in a suitable environment.

Thanks for everyone's responses

U of Ottawa and McGill are my first two choices (not necessarily in that order), mainly because I could continue developing my french skills in a suitable environment.

Thats a perfect answer you can give them during the interview. Even tho you dont speak english, you still want to learn it in a bilingual environment. Like I said previously... I think they only look at your marks at first (for the interview) and then they select according to your aptitudes

hey does anyone know if trilingualism has a + effect on the admissions commity?:D

Hey guys,