Premed 101 Forums

Undergraduate degree in Engineering?

seeker

Many people say that if you love what you study, you will excel. Med schools have no preference to what kind of degree you have as long as you have the pre-reqs. Also, a competetive GPa is necessary in to have them look at your application further.

Hi there,

I know of at least 3 engineers within the field that you're considering who are now either doctors or who are within medical school. There are many more engineers within other fields in medicine, too. That being said, the above advice is good--try to choose a field that will interest you as opposed to one that you hope might impress the right folks. Certainly though, if you end up finishing a degree in this field it shouldn't be an impedance to medical school entry.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Hey Seeker,

I am in my 4th year of an engineering program. Personally for me, it was a good choice. I haven't taken any biomedical engineering courses but I managed to work 2 summers under a prof who does biomedical research. This eventually led me to work with a prof in the faculty of medicine at my school for my 4th year thesis project. This is valuable experience for me since I'm interested more in the academic side of medicine. Because of my engineering experience/know-how, I'm not so much working with for my prof as I am working with him.

That being said, I wish I chose an easier program. Prereqs were very hard to come by, and because of that I was limited in the number of schools I could apply to.

In the end it really doesn't matter what major you choose. I know a lot of people who have gone in to med school after engineering (civil, electrical, eng phys, chem eng etc) including my family doctor. There are also a lot of people who have gone through more traditional routes. The biggest factor is if would you be interested in working as a Biosystems engineer (whatever that is) if you don't get into med school.