Premed 101 Forums

Just Complaining

Basically, this is to blow off steam and complain about the scoring system. The story is this: in my first couple years of undergrad I screwed around (re: drinking and varsity sports instead of classes). Now there seems to be now way to get over this. I have a Master's now but that still doesn't change their GPA weightings.

Anyways, I was laughing about one of the earlier posts on here about felony charges and second chances. It seems like you can make that type of mistake and be forgiven, but not for sleeping through your classes in your early educative career...

How can one overcome a poor grades score? Even if you ace the references; essays; extra-curricular, and do well on the MCAT there is no way of overcoming the GPA. 304 for in-province! That means you could get 15s across the board on the MCAT and get the highest possible scores for essays, references, and extracurricular, but a GPA <3.4 would bump you out of contention... Does this seem a bit unfair?

Discuss...:(

Hi there,

One of the good things about medical school in Canada is that each school designs its own admissions scoring system. Although your past academic history might haunt you when applying to UofC, have you looked at how your file may be viewed by other schools? For example, if your poorer years occurred greater than 10 years ago then it might behoove you to consider UBC and their 10 year rule. Therein, they forgive past mistakes by ignoring all coursework completed greater than 10 years ago, as long as you have completed all the pre-requisite courses within the last 10 years.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Yes, it is a little bit unfair. A bad GPA can haunt you. But if you have a good academic trend, it is likely that the admissions committee will take this into consideration.