Premed 101 Forums

3.2GPA, 18O MCAT. Should I continue to apply in Canada or look to the Caribbean?

Hi there,

I would like to get some advice for the predicament I find myself in right now. I am in my fourth year of university with a 3.2 GPA and an 18O on the MCAT. I have applied to UBC, Ontario (Mac, Ottawa, Toronto) and Memorial University for medicine. I am not considering the US because of the low MCAT scores I just recieved (MCAT written in Aug 2006) and, likewise, my plans to originally apply to Ireland become dampened. My application to UBC, Toronto, and Memorial do not have much prospect because of these MCAT scores either, and may not even be considered at all. I am planning to rewrite the MCAT's next summer if I do not get acceptance to any medical schools this year. However, I am trying my best to get in wherever I can. I am still considering the Carribean's for fall 2007. Can anyone give me some guidance in where I should be applying? Also, is it worth continuing applications for this year, before rewriting the MCAT, or would it just be a lost cause? Please, any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I don't want to be mean or anything, but a 3.2GPA is generally pretty low for Canadian schools. McMaster sets its cut-off, so if you are interested, I think you can apply there. Your 18O will definitely get flagged at any MCAT school you apply to. Its too low. You are averaging 6 and most schools tend to worry about anything under an 8. Anyone else have stuff to say....

Hi there,