Premed 101 Forums

Pharmacy, not as a backup, as a career. Can I still do medicine later?

BATGAL

Hi,

I read several threads which dealt with how to get to medschool through pharmacy (or nursing etc) as a backup.

Well.........from what I know, I think I would love to work as a pharmacist (esp. hospital pharm). But I would enjoy even more if i am a physician.

But what I like is........if i get in to pharmacy, work as a pharmacist for a few years...get my financial situation alright, learn more about the health field and gain experience (and also see if pharmacy will be good for life).

The question is if I want to apply to medschool say, after working 4 years as a pharmacist.........how will it affect my admission?

Does it get better or worse?

To calculate my GPA, do they look at my best 3 or 4 years or something?

The fact that I have been away from studies for a while.....how does that affect my application.

I definitely wanna give hospital pharmacy a try.....but I still want to keep my options open for medschool in the far future.

Any comments are welcome guyz...

Hi,

I read several threads which dealt with how to get to medschool through pharmacy (or nursing etc) as a backup.

Well.........from what I know, I think I would love to work as a pharmacist (esp. hospital pharm). But I would enjoy even more if i am a physician.

But what I like is........if i get in to pharmacy, work as a pharmacist for a few years...get my financial situation alright, learn more about the health field and gain experience (and also see if pharmacy will be good for life).

The question is if I want to apply to medschool say, after working 4 years as a pharmacist.........how will it affect my admission?

Does it get better or worse?

To calculate my GPA, do they look at my best 3 or 4 years or something?

The fact that I have been away from studies for a while.....how does that affect my application.