Premed 101 Forums

Qualifying as In Province?

I was born in Ontario and was there for some of my childhood. I am a BC Resident now, and have lived here most of my life. I have never considered applying in Ontario as I assumed I would be considered out of province. I'm wondering if anyone knows if someone like me may be granted "In province" priveleges being that I was born there and spent time there as a child?

I know that UBC grants others "in province" priveleges if they are not currently residents but have a valid history in BC. Is Ontario the same?

PS) I'm not meaning to double post...as I started to ask this question in another Forum but it was not the right place to ask it...hoping for some answers here. thx.

I think that many of the schools in Ontario have no OOP quota (like the one UBC has). I know Ottawa makes it more difficult for people outside of the Ottawa region, but other than that I'm not really sure if any other school care what province you are from (meaning you have any equal chance as anybody from Ontario).

I know Ottawa makes it more difficult for people outside of the Ottawa region, but other than that I'm not really sure if any other school care what province you are from (meaning you have any equal chance as anybody from Ontario).

Actually, Mac gives 90% of interview positions to Ontario residents and 10% to OOP applicants. To qualify as an Ontario resident, you need to have spent 3 years living in Ontario since the age of 14.

So, for the three year clause, what if we've lived here attending 4 years of univeristy, but our permanent address is elsewhere and we go home every summer?

No worries, attendance at a university for 3 years qualifies you as an Ontario resident for Mac, which will be evident in your transcript.