Premed 101 Forums

Frustrated Beyond Belief!! (returning to undergrad at 30, finding it hard)

Sparkles

Hi.....

I've been browsing this forum for awhile and just want to say how much I love it!

I'm a first year student (30) years old aching to get into medicine! I don't care where I go....it's been a passion of mine for years. However I am finding my return to school less than enjoyable. I work my ass off....but am pulling a 65 in my biology and a 70 in my stats. My English is only at an 81....French 89 and Chemistry 86...this is after all my midterms. I'm not sure if I should drop my stats or bio and aim for higher marks in my other courses? Or if I should just plug away and do my best. I want the best grades possible but I know alot of institutions want a full course load. I've tried my ass of in stats and biology but just don't seem to be pulling it off. I'd like to ROCK the finals for bio and stats, but that may be wishful thinking. Stats takes up most of my time....but if I retake it I can't see myself getting a much higher grade.

Anyways....enough of my ramble. Are my chances of getting into medicine anywhere gone with these 2 low grades? Or if I continue and then ace everything else will the schools overlook this as first semester culture shock? I really want to plug away....I know I may not end up with the best grades in these, but I know feel I now know how to handle "college" life and would not end up with such low grades in my next semesters.

What would you do? And remember....I will be applying to almost all the med schools I can when the time comes.

hi,