Premed 101 Forums

Suggestions/Advice Please

FunkyPants

Hello!

I am planning to rewrite the MCAT this June (third time!). The first time around I took the kaplan course and scored 8, 9, 10 O. The second time around I studied on my own, and worked full time and scored 9, 8, 11, Q.

I would love some advice as to how I can really work on improving my scores, especially from people who have rewritten a few times and finally nailed it! Physics is definitely my weak point, and I think I have underestimated the VR section in the past and need to work on that too.

Thanks in advance for your help!

FP

Well, I didn't do extremely well (11/10/10/P), but from your scores and your own admission, your weak points are the physical sciences and verbal sections. Your writing sample improved by quite a bit as well the second time around. And I am assuming that the last score is your bio score, which seems to be just fine.

From where I'm standing, you could easily increase your physical sciences score by doing more practice. Know your formulas, and do enough practice problems so that you can determine which formula to use (this goes for both chem and physics).

The verbal section is the most challenging to improve. If you have been consistently scoring in the same range (<10), a change of strategy could be your best bet. What kinds of strategies did Kaplan suggest? I took a prep course through Princeton Review, and one strategy they had was to spend most of the time on 8 of 9 passages and completely guess on the last one. Personally, I found that no matter how long I spent on a passage, I would always get the same number of questions right/wrong. For me, the trick was to make sure I got through every passage.