Premed 101 Forums

UFT kills... (hard time in 1st year undergrad)

im in my first year undergrad in life sciences at UFT(st.george)....and its just so overwhelming sometimes... i mean my GPA most prob would be around 2.8 and i just dont kno wt to do...im trying my best but then its just so stressful and killin....woahh...well im thinkin of switchin universities....any suggestions?....i know its my hard work thats imp and all univeristies are the same..but i dont kno...just confused...:(

Maybe you are appraoching the work the wrong way. Make sure you have a plan for when you are studying and realize the level of detailed required of you to know in university is probably a lot more than that for high school.

I have a 3 step method for me.

1. read over the notes to ensure that everything naturally makes sense to me

2. write out the notes trying to memorize it

3. re-write the notes trying to memorize again but this time picking up anything i missed the first time i wrote them out

This usually is enough to guarantee me a good mark in most courses.

If I don't do the third step, it's pretty evident. For some hardcore courses, I repeart step 3 anywhere from 1 to 3 times.

For courses where they are problem based...do as many practice problems as you can. Also, use your professors. I don't know how accessible they are at UofT, but they are a valuable resource especially since they write the exams. You'll get it, just keep chugging away at it and stay consistent.

The transition between high school and university is difficult imo because in the former, you can pretty much study anything, just the fact that you did will ensure a mark. Obviously, we were able to do this better than most, so our high school marks were probably quite high. But in uni, as was mentioned above, studying effectively is more important than anything else.