Premed 101 Forums

Deferral of Acceptance

Hi Guys,

Does anyone know much about deferring an acceptance? I have been applying for a few years now and although I desperately want to be accepted this year it will be hard for me to drop the "things that I am doing outside of medicine" at this point.

Without going into too much detail, I have the opportunity to participate in the 2008 Olympics in Beijing. It is obviously an amazing opportunity and one that I do not want to pass up (would have to in order to attend school). But on the other hand, medicine is what I want to do with my life and I can not pass up an acceptance with no guarantee of being accepted next year. Of course this is all based on an acceptance this year without which this is a moot point.

So, the question is, do you guys know what it takes to get a deferral? The grounds for deferral on the website are very vague (i.e. extreme circumstances).

Thanks and please let me know what you think.

I think they look at granting deferrals on a case-by-case scenario, so it's very hard to tell whether you will get one or not. In general, you will not get a deferral to finish another degree (undergrad, grad, professional), but you don't fit into this category. They might be more lenient with your situation. The only way to know is to apply for the deferral and see what they say.

I went to an info session a while back (not the one on interview weekend, this one was open to anyone) and it was said that they very rarely grant deferrals and you would have to have a really good reason. A couple of examples were given to demonstrate that they mean REALLY good reason. The ones I remember are having a Rhodes scholarship or going to the Olympics. Therefore, I think you have a really good reason. Good Luck.

I went to an info session a while back (not the one on interview weekend, this one was open to anyone) and it was said that they very rarely grant deferrals and you would have to have a really good reason.