Premed 101 Forums

U of S CaRMS Success

Hey guys,

I was hoping someone could comment on the success rate of U of S graduates in CaRMS. Are there any U of S Med IV's out there who recently went through the process? How about the highly competititve residencies (Derm, Plastics, etc.)? Any comments appreciated... Thanks.

TNT

I am not a med IV (I am a resident at the UofS) but I have a lot of friends in Med IV and they did fantastic as UofS typically does.

There were 2 unmatched, around 6 radiology, 1 ent, 3 optho, lots of surg (neuro/gen/obgyne ...), no plastics this year 1 last year, a lot of anesthesia, not as many internal med as usual (didn't seem like they were a big internal class), a lot of peds matches

Safe to say UofS matches well. We are extremely well trained, the only thing UofS lacks when it comes to CaRMS is appropriate support and advice from the administration.

Hi,

What happens after they are unmatched, if you don't mind me asking.

Hi there,

As with any CaRMS applicant who is unmatched post-first round, you can either: 1) apply for any of the leftover positions in the second round of the match (which often tend to be quite limited in terms of both, location and specialty); 2) defer your CaRMS application until the following year.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

How is someone's CaRMS ranking determined? It just sounds to me that doing well is harder than getting into med school in the first place! How much of it is based on where you do your MD?

Hi,