Premed 101 Forums

Professional students/graduates applying to Medicine ?

I'm wondering if there are other health are professionals, either in the allied health fields or elsewhere that are interested or currently applying to medical school.

I am in allied health and wanted to hear some of experiences people have had.

Share whatever you feel is relevant. Thanks

• 2 weeks later...
  • 5 weeks later...

hi im going into my first year in PT, with the intentions of going into med school. is it possible to apply during your 1st year. I know some med schools (ie. UofT) don't consider you unless you are in the process of completing your degree or have already completed it.

• 1 year later...

I'm currently in my second year of law school and am wondering the same thing.

Anyone have any thoughts on the switch? Medicine has always been this deep, lurching passion and I have very clearly chosen the wrong path.

Does anyone have any thoughts on switching from a law degree to a MD (with no prior science background??)

• 1 month later...
I'm currently in my second year of law school and am wondering the same thing.

Anyone have any thoughts on the switch? Medicine has always been this deep, lurching passion and I have very clearly chosen the wrong path.

Does anyone have any thoughts on switching from a law degree to a MD (with no prior science background??)

Have you taken high school chemistry and biology? If you have, its enough to get you started on taking youre premed prerequisites. Im in my third year of BSN (nursing) and im having a similar feeling, though i think nursing would be a great job if i dont make it. My plan is to take another year after to finish my science prereqs and prepare for the mcat.