Premed 101 Forums

UBC's Biopsychology program

Does anyone here have experience with the Biopsych program (as a graduate of the program or a current student)? I am interested in it, but as it is a small program I haven't really heard too much about it. My end goal (for now) is to attend medical school. A lot of people have been telling me to go for the more traditional science degree (eg. Biology, Biochemistry) because "it will prepare you for medicine more" but I don't really agree with that.

Any input on interest-factor, lab hours, workload, etc. would be appreciated!

(I'm not sure where this thread should be! Apologies in advance..)

I took the BSc psych program and graduated two years ago. I applied to med school when I graduated but was rejected and one of the comments for my rejection was BSc in psych. However, it is a great program and is the closest thing to an undergrad neuroscience program we have at UBC.

But they have changed the name of the program so that now you get a degree in Behavioral Neuroscience instead of Biopsychology. Interestingly, I have received interviews at both med schools I applied to now that my degree is in behavioral neuroscience and not psych. :confused:

I would definitely recommend the program but you may run into problems if you want to get into med school.

I took the BSc psych program and graduated two years ago. I applied to med school when I graduated but was rejected and one of the comments for my rejection was BSc in psych.

Why is a BSc in Psych a problem? I thought that med schools didn't care whether you had a BA or BSc, let alone which program you completed...:confused:

but was rejected and one of the comments for my rejection was BSc in psych.

I don't understand why it would matter either, but now am feeling a bit worried. What exactly did they (adcom?) say?

I really want to do a degree in this but would like to avoid a shock when I apply to meds. Yikes...