Premed 101 Forums

Water is asymmetrical? What?

LMAO. Sorry you are probably a first year. Google VSEPR (Valence Shell Electron Pair Repulsion theory) and sp3 hybridization.

In a nut shell, the e- orbitals in the central O are arranged in the shape of a tetrahedron with two points/orbitals involved in bonds with H and two points occuppied by lone e- pairs. Because O is highly electronegative the H have partial positive charges and the O has partial negative charge. If the molecule was linear like CO2 then the partial charges would cancel out but because it is bent there is a net dipole moment.:cool:

No no, I'm in my final year of high school, I was merely quickly glancing through my High school "Biology 12" textbook.

WaterSymmetry.jpg

So I guess the electrons are taken into consideration when determining whether a molecule is symmetric or asymmetric, and not just the atoms.

Wow, I have a lot to learn.

The text means asymmetrical in the sense that the molecule is bent due to the trigonal planar configuration of the bonding and nonbonding electrons:

http://www.hrw.com/science/si-science/chemistry/atomic_structure/molecules/img/02h20.gif

Careful here. Water is not trigonal planar. When you consider the lone pairs, water is actually tetrahedral, when they are not considered, water is bent. An example of a molecule that is trigonal planar is BF3 (boron trifluoride). However, the part about the asymmetry described is correct.

Careful here. Water is not trigonal planar. When you consider the lone pairs, water is actually tetrahedral, when they are not considered, water is bent. An example of a molecule that is trigonal planar is BF3 (boron trifluoride). However, the part about the asymmetry described is correct.

Yep, I just meant the shape that the filled orbitals take. Didn't mean to imply that water is trigonal planar under VSEPR theory.

No no, I'm in my final year of high school, I was merely quickly glancing through my High school "Biology 12" textbook.