Premed 101 Forums

Applying to med w/o your typical science undergrad...

Hello everybody,

Before browsing this forum I was under the impression that it didn't really matter what you did your undergrad in as long as you completed the pre req's. (if any) However, after browsing a few recent threads I am now under the impression that my undergraduate degree in which I am going to pursue will put me at a disadvantage. I am currently in first year and I am planning on pusuing an honors specialization in psychology B Sc. Can anyone give me the straight goods and tell me if I am in any way at a disadvantage to more typical science undergrads? ( like a bio or chem major)

Thanks so much guys!

Hi, it depends on the school. Some med schools like Western and Queens only look at your gpa, so it is a very black and white process - you either make their cutoffs and get an interview or you get rejected.

For other med schools like U of T and McGill, there is someone who looks at your application as a whole. They see what school you are from, what kind of degree, what your marks are for your individual courses, etc. So it is a rather subjective process. How much your school/program matters is hotly debated here. But to answer your question, personally, I don't see psych as a disadvantage, I can't answer for the admissions people though. People who get into med school come from rather diverse undergrad backgrounds, in terms of specialization in the sciences.

For other med schools like U of T and McGill, there is someone who looks at your application as a whole. They see what school you are from. . .

Isn't it true that the prestige of an applicant's undergraduate institution isn't given much consideration in the medical school admission process? For example, if what you are saying is true, then applicants who attended York (such as myself) will be looked down upon when applying to U of T/McGill Faculty of Medicine.