Premed 101 Forums

do I have a shot at UBC med given my GPA?

Hello guys,

I just recently completed a biochemistry degree at UBC as a BC resident and I am considering to pursue medicine. I have lots of volunteering experience but they were all non-medical related. Here is how my GPA breaks down:

overall GPA: 79

Last two year's GPA: 79

My GPA trend is pretty steady in all 4 years.

I still have to write the MCAT, but I don't think that I will do well in verbel reasoning and writing pieace since english is my second lanauge and my average grade for univerisy english courses were B.

Do I have a pretty good shot at UBC med? Thanks!

Well, I'll just give you a quick statistic analysis.

Your GPA will yield you around 19/25 on the AQ section. Given that the interview cutoff is consistently around 36 each year, you will need 17/25 on the NAQ to receive an interview. In my opinion, just meeting the minimum requirement is not enough, so preferably around 20+/25 on your NAQ. You will also note from UBC statistics page that NAQ is harder to attain than AQ, and what your idea of "lots of volunteer work" may not necessarily translate into high NAQ score. There are sections like "high performance" and "leadership" that they intentionally score you poorly so that they can reserve those scores for unusual circumstances (olympic athlete, etc). Thus, methinks that breaking the 20 points mark on the NAQ is extremely difficult. You may want to think about doing some post-bacc work specifiically aimed at boosting your last 60 grades (I know this is stupid in principle and I object to it, but you gotta play by the rules).

Also, MCAT isn't that important. Get your 7 on your verbal and do well in the other two sections. Also, concentrate on the Kaplan formula for essay success and you'll be fine. I got an "R" with my shoddy english after taking that course when my previous two attempts yielded "N"s. :D :D :D