Premed 101 Forums

Which MCACT Prep Books Should I Buy?

takashi

Hello guys, this is my first time posting in the new forums (I posted one of those typical "which uni should I attend" threads back in the old forums two years ago :) ).

I am currently in 2nd year at UofT and I am probably going to write the mcats this summer so I decided to start preparing now by getting some prep books. Unfortunately, I have no idea where to start and which books to buy. I still have my org and physics textbook from first year but I am not sure whether these are sufficient. I am pretty sure that my weakest section will probably be the verbal section since I don't like reading books and have poor verbal reasoning skills.

I was wondering if you guys could recommend me which prep books I should buy. I greatly appreciate any recommendations you guys can give me. Thanks in advance for any help.

I would recommend going to a bookstore and looking through the available prep books. Everyone learns differently and you should try to find a prep book that meets your learning needs. That said, I would highly recommend ExamKrackers. I bought EK and Kaplan and abandoned the Kaplan books after approximately 2 weeks since I felt that EK was much better (Kaplan was like a really dry textbook). I thought that the EK books were written so that you could acquire a deeper understanding of the material as opposed to just providing a dry account of material to memorize (which will NOT help you for the MCAT since it is all about mastering the sciences conceptually). The books are succinct and filled with color and mnemonic pictures/phrases. I did not study for the verbal nor written sections though, since I wrote the GREs during the same summer (and they are heavy on verbal/written). Therefore, I cannot comment on EK's verbal prep.