Premed 101 Forums

A student's meager plea for advice.

Hello all, I am very glad to be a part of this forum as it answers a lot of questions and concerns many aspiring dentists (such as myself) have. If you have a bit of time, I just want to describe my current situation to you as best as I can. Of course, I would greatly appreciate any advice offered (harsh or not). There's no point in lying about grades or whys & why nots so I will be perfectly honest here:

I am a transfer student from U of T now currently at YorkU in Toronto. Two reasons for that: 1) pathetic grades and 2) brother entering 1st-year at university so transportation means would become an enormous problem. I was at U of T for 3 years and these are my grades (bear with me now):

1st year - annual gpa - 1.96

2nd year - annual gpa - 2.45

3rd year - annual gpa - 3.12

Cumulative gpa = 2.46

^ This was doing a double major in zoology & human biology. Also note that my first 2 years with not full-course load years (I took another full course the subsequent summer for both years). I decided, albeit late, that if my grades weren't outstanding in third year, I would switch out (if it was possible) and so, here I am now, currently finishing my 1st year at York in a B.Sc of Kinesiology. The transition has been very different. The tests are easier, but I am studying more efficiently & have a better sense of mind here than I ever did at U of T. I think the change in scenery has helped me a great deal (sort of like a fresh start although obviously not). By the end of my degree (next year) my gpa for the two years will be around a 3.7-3.9. I'd like to know, do I have a shot at getting into dental school at all? Do dental schools look at if your grades have increased over the years?