Premed 101 Forums

Canadians @ London (UK) Medical Schools

Guest JaneUK

Guest JaneUK

Hi,

My name is Jane and I am finishing my first year at Guy's/King's/St.Thomas' Faculty of Medicine (University of London) - GKT Med School for short. Exams will be over in two weeks :D . I'm in the special Foundation year for students with arts degrees or non-science A levels. Students in this Programme (about 40 of us) automatically merge into GKT Med (or Dental) Y1 upon successful completion of the Foundation year. We have a very diverse group - arts graduates from Oxford/Cambridge, high school grades from Portugal, Switzerland, England, Scotland, a former investment banker from France, university graduates from Israel, Iran and Poland, a missionary who spent 10 years counseling heroin addicts in China/Thailand, a Somali refugee from Sweden, a former midwife, a former documentary film producer.

I graduated from UofT with a degree in music (jazz performance - saxophone, to be specific). I applied for med school in London because I accompanied my partner (who was seconded/transferred to London) and I wanted to keep myself on career track.

Are there any other Canadians currently studying at (or accepted to) GKT, Barts, UCL, St Georges, Imperial, etc?

Anyone interested in hearing more about GKT or the admission process, please respond to this post.

Cheers,

JaneUK

Guest Badkarma25

hi jane,

fill us in on the p's and q's of the admissions process for the program you're in...puuuulllleeeeeeeeasse!

Guest JaneUK

Hey Badkarma,

As requested, here is a bit more information about the admissions process at GKT. All dates are approximate - if you are interested, you should obtain a current GKT Med/Dental Prospectus from King's College.

FYI, I was actually living/working in London at the time of my application and I'm not sure if the process is vastly different for overseas applicants.