Premed 101 Forums

Clerkship Elective Choices for Rad

Hi all,

I'm a third year med student and I want to do radiology residency. My med school requires that I do 4 weeks of non-rad electives, so two 2 week rotations. I heard that respirology or neuro or ortho might be good choices to complement rad electives. I'm wondering if someone with more experience than I can comment on what the best choices would be.

Also, if I end up not doing a rad elective at a particular school, but I did a non-rad elective there like respirology, how much if at all would that help my chances of getting an interview there?

Thank you so much for any input!! :)

An anxious med student :/

Hi there,

The options you have listed above are all good choices as they tend to be quite radiology-heavy.

As for completing an elective in a different discipline at a school at which you haven't completed a radiology elective, it's difficult to say how it will weigh in. Certainly, if the elective is with a faculty member who is pals with a key radiologist (and this happened to me at UBC) then I think it could certainly make a difference. However, at some other schools where they prefer applicants to have radiology elective experience, it might not be enough to snag you an interview. (I've heard this happen at McGill and Ottawa, for instance.)

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Thanks Kirsteen!

I was also wondering what you think about doing a nuclear medicine elective vs resp/neuro/ortho. I don't know too much about nuclear medicine, (and in first year I actually thought they were the same thing! silly me hehe), but it seems similar to radiology...

Thanks again, Kirsteen - we med students can always count on you to give good advice ;)

Thanks Kirsteen!

I was also wondering what you think about doing a nuclear medicine elective vs resp/neuro/ortho. I don't know too much about nuclear medicine, (and in first year I actually thought they were the same thing! silly me hehe), but it seems similar to radiology...