Premed 101 Forums

UBC Dental

Okay I've been browsing these forums for the past 2 days, looking up any threads with the term UBC and simply GAWKING at some of the GPA's you guys have.

I'm currently a 3rd year undergrad majoring in Chemistry at UBC.

My GPA for the first two years is only 73% (yeah...dunno what I was doing...but organic chem KILLED me).

UBC dent admission average is about 81-83%, and it seems impossible for me to get in, especially with the courseload I have this year (quantum chem, ADVANCED organic, etc.)

I plan to study for the DAT next summer and take it in November 2009.

As for extracurricular, I have no experience working in a hospital per se, but I did help out at the blood donor clinic for a year.

I've heard from some friends that Canadian dental schools don't care as much about volunteer work as the Canadian medical schools.

Currently my problem is my GPA, it seems hopeless to me

How'd you guys manage a 3.7+ GPA? That's like an 87% average....

Because I actually find chemistry quite interesting, how chemistry, physics and math connect together to form the basis of nearly every modern technology

computers? silicon

lighter cars? aluminum

and I also really like the fact that chemists will be the cure to global warming (if we don't blow each other up with nukes first).

Just that UBC chem is pretty fricking hard....

@Contach: wow...5 hours a day, that's something i can't do. I need at least 8 hours/day to function well. No comment on your diet.

Because I actually find chemistry quite interesting, how chemistry, physics and math connect together to form the basis of nearly every modern technology

computers? silicon

lighter cars? aluminum

and I also really like the fact that chemists will be the cure to global warming (if we don't blow each other up with nukes first).

Just that UBC chem is pretty fricking hard....