Premed 101 Forums

new to American apps: is it too late? Is it worth applying?

sidi

Hi!

I am really new to the whole American med. skool application process...is there a thread that explains the whole process, like what is a primary vs secondary application? How much it costs to apply, etc?

As a Canadian citizen, is it worth it to apply to US schools?

As well, is it too late to begin applying? I haven't done anything yet.

Thank you!

It is way too late to apply. (((edit: you can still apply, but I wouldn't recommend it, you may as well throw your $$ in the toilet)))

The american process starts in June, and does rolling admissions so basically first come first serve in terms of getting your application looked at.

Primary is the application you send to AAMC, who forwards it to as many schools as you wish (30$ each plus 120$ app fee).

Then some of the schools who want to know more about you will send you a secondary application which could be an essay or 2 or 3 or nothing....

After that they will choose candidates for interviews which can start in september and go all the way until april.

As a canadian, if you apply EARLY and to the right schools and have reasonable stats, you stand a good chance.

Do a search in this forum and mostly on forums.studentdoctor.net and you will find a wealth of information

I am going to submit a secondary to wayne soon and even I am uber late. You have to get verified, thena fter that you have to wait to receive secondaries, then finish that, then you have to wait to get complete, then get reviewed, then get interviewed, and then get reviewed again. After thats all said and done, the class is nearly full and you might be interviewing for a waitlist spot.

also, to put it in perspective... i submitted my columbia secondary on sept 9 and they will start processing apps from sept 1-12 this week. acceptances will be handed out mid october.