Premed 101 Forums

Extracurricular activities and CaRMS

Guest sky100

Guest sky100

Hello.

I am a first year medical student and I see a lot of my classmates being involved in tons of extracurricular activities. I, on the other hand, am involved in only 1 or 2. Personally, I participate in extracurricular activities because I enjoy them but seeing what's going on around me I was wondering if any of the upper years can comment on how important involvement in extracurricular activities during med school is in terms of CaRMS matching. Are extracurricular activities taken into account at all?

Thanks much.

Guest McMastergirl

It depends on what you mean by "extracurriculars." I would say that doing electives is important. I would say that being on committees like the social committee, the grad committee, etc, is not important. I wasn't on any of these and in no way did I feel it hurt my CaRMS application.

Research can really give you a leg up, especially if it results in a publication.

Being involved in something related to a career in a specific area, like your medical school journal, a community education program (for example, one promoting rural medicine or STD education for high school kids), or the like, can look really good on a CaRMS application.

If you could give us some examples of the kinds of things you think you maybe should be doing, it might help sort this out for you.

Guest sky100

Thanks McMastergirl for your prompt reply!

I was wondering if being on the class council or organizing fundraisers or being a member of the Medical Society in one's school or being a course rep or programs such as those helping troubled youth or kids at risk, etc. count and if so, which ones will be looked upon most favorably for CaRMS matching. Sorry, I threw a lot at you but I am just trying to understand what sort of activities help with CaRMS matching and which ones don't count so much.

Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.