Premed 101 Forums

Q about timing of DAT & rewriting

Hi all,

I'm not sure..when the best time to write my DAT would be.

I'm in second year right now..planning to hopefully shadow a dentist over the summer.

Yes, the best time to write the DAT would be when I'm most ready! But..I don't know if I should be studying for the DAT over the summer AND shadow (if I can find a dentist who would let me).

But..if I don't write it this summer and devote my time to volunteering, the other time would be..November of my 4th year, then I would be applying without knowing my DAT scores. That seems REALLY shady..

but then, do people significantly improve their DAT scores on the 2nd write?

=( ..if this seems like a stupid question, sorry. I've been stressing out about stuff lately.. can't seem to get myself together. It just seems like maybe I'm starting things too late.

Does studying for the DAT take up the entire summer? Or can I easily squeeze in shadowing + other volunteer activities with DAT studies?

Thank you so much in advance,

Confused n00b:confused:

It all depends on how familiar you are with the studying material. I wrote my first DAT on Nov as a 2nd year and I found some of the sciences fairly new. I wrote it again this year(Nov) as a third year and found it somewhat easier to study because now most of it was covered by univ lectures. In terms of studying time, I prepared for a week both times as do many others. Although many prepare for months, it really depends on how confident you are. Also keep in mind that DAT will most likely be during exam week so prepare in advance if you are not so confident.